Eating Healthy on the Weekend

So, this weekend ended up being crazy busy and it got me thinking about how it is harder for me to eat healthy and at normal intervals/times during the weekend! Usually I give my self some leeway on weekends and allow myself to eat out a lot more and get things that I typically wouldn’t have during the week (baked goods/ice cream/red meat/fried food), but at the same time I have been feeling rather sluggish on Sunday nights lately and I think it probably has to do with the richer and heavier foods I am eating on Saturday and Sunday! I am thinking of trying to start making healthier versions of these foods and maybe trying to incorporate those in on weekends to see if that helps!! Also, I need to remember to try and incorporate a fat/carb/protein in most of my meals because I know that is the most effective way for me to curb my hunger and stay satisfied longer!!!

Anyways, the past couple days I have been having overnight oats for breakfast (topped with coconut/blueberries/raspberries/& blackberries), and since I just pictured those last week I thought I would take this morning to share my super easy dinner from last night with you and then give you an awesome treadmill workout that I did on Saturday and then a slightly shorter version last night!

First off…DINNER! A super easy pasta and veggie combo…

dinner day 2

My mom had already prepped some penne pasta and marinara sauce when I got home last night (a lot of times she will make a big portion of pasta or soup or something and just leave it out for everyone to have as they get home during the course of the night) and though I wasn’t in a pasta mood at first, the spicy marinara sauce was quite delicious and so I simply sautéed some broccoli, mushrooms, and carrots in a tbsp. of coconut oil and a tsp. of minced garlic and added that to my pasta base for a delicious and filling dinner!

Now on to…TREADMILL HILL/RUN INTERVAL WORKOUT!!! (Taken from Peanut Butter Fingers Blog..aka my favorite healthy living blog!!!)

Time

Incline

Speed

0-2

8.0

4.0

2-4

9.0

4.0

4-6

10.0

4.0

6-8

11.0

4.0

8-10

12.0

4.0

10-12

7.0

4.0

12-17

1.0

6.5

For minutes 17-29 repeat minutes 1-12

29-34

1.0

6.5/7.0 switching every minute

34-36

8.0

4.0

36-38

9.0

4.0

38-39

7.0

4.0

39-41

1.0

7.0

41-43

10.0

4.0

43-45

11.0

4.0

45-46

7.0

4.0

46-49

1.0

7.0

49-51

12.0

4.0

51-55

7.0

4.0

This workout seriously gets your glutes burning and then gets some great bursts of cardio in as well, so be prepared to be sweating up a storm when you are finished!!

Leave a Reply

