my struggles with healthy eating

Before I dive into this topic I thought I would start by sharing my lunch from today…

lunch day 3

Yum, lots of colors and freggies galor!!!

First off was a kale salad with shredded chicken breast, pepitas, dried cranberries, and a poppyseed dressing….time for a close up of this beauty!

lunch day 3 close up salad

Then, on the side i enjoyed a fresh fruit salad courtesy of the cafe downstairs at work…

lunch day 3 close up fruit

Nom, Nom, Nom! These pictures make me want to eat this meal again…the colors just pop!!! YUMMMMM!

Anyways, I also wanted to post my elliptical workout from this morning, which was this…

Time

Resistance

0-3

8.0

3-5

9.0

5-10

10.0

10-13

12.0

13-15

15.0

15-20

10.0

20-22

11.0

22-24

12.0

24-26

13.0

26-28

14.0

28-30

15.0

30-35

11.0

35-38

12.0

38-40

13.0

40-41

10.0

41-42

11.0

42-43

12.0

43-44

13.0

44-45

14.0

It was a good workout that challenged me, but also allowed my sore legs a little rest from running!

Now, on to healthy eating and the daily struggles I face after my eating disorder. One of the main things that pops out in my head is labeling foods as good or bad. For so long I wouldn’t eat something (mainly bread/rice/potatoes..aka carbs) because in my head thin people did NOT eat those types of foods! I stuck mainly to fruits & veggies, sometimes adding fish or chicken, but my carb intake was super low!!!

However, these days I have been trying to incorporate more carbs..easy ways are having a bagel or sandwich for lunch, adding granola to my yogurt, having oats in the morning, a dinner roll at night, crackers/pretzels as a snack, and I am also a huge fan of quinoa and brown rice as dinner sides! In fact, I have even put quinoa on top of salads in order to get in that carb at lunch! It really does make a difference when I add more carbs to my diet and I found myself sustained for longer amounts of time after eating them!

Another thing I am dealing with currently is mindless snacking before dinner. Typically what happens a lot with me is I will get home from the gym and I usually go pack my lunch for the next day right away! However, when i am doing this I tend to pick at things as I am preparing it and end up consuming lots of peanut butter, yogurt, granola, nuts, etc. I know that this is mindless snacking and unnecessary since I am going to be eating dinner relatively soon, yet for some reason I just can’t seem to help myself!

I am thinking maybe I should try and chew gum or eat dinner before packing my lunch…but I am just not sure what is going to work!! Hopefully I will be able to reign this in because some nights it does end up feeling like when I used to go into binge eating and I would really like to work on ending this and cutting out the picking at things all together! I have gotten better at work, but my goal for the next week is to try and think about if I am really hungry when I eat little bits here and there and if I am then to actually get a serving of whatever it is I want instead of just doing the whole munching thing!! Wish me luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

