it ain’t easy, but it’s worth it.

quote

Good morning all!

Sooo happy today is Friday! Finally some time to sleep in, read, have coffee while watching the morning news (or if it’s Sunday then watching SNL from the night before!!), go out to breakfast, clean, do laundry,  take afternoon naps, watch hockey, cook yummy food, go hiking, shop!, restock my groceries, do yoga…yada yada yada I could keep going but these seem to be my favorite weekend things to do!

This weekend my sister and I have plans to go for a hike in Laguna Beach, so that should be fun! Hopefully we stick to it, because sometimes we can be lame and decide to stay in our pj’s all day rather than embark on the adventure we had planned! haha but we will see!

Anyways, lets start with last night…check out how nice it was out yesterday!

road pic

This was on my drive home from work…everything just looked so clear and pretty! Plus my favorite time of day is in the late evening like from 4-7 during spring/summer, when the sun starts going down and there is a nice warm breeze and everything just feels calm and serene out! It literally is the best time to go for a swim or take a walk or sit on the porch and enjoy the warm weather and last bit of daylight. Gah, I am so excited for summer to get here!!!

Last night I went to dinner with a friend at a nice restaurant right on the marina. We went right as the sun was setting and we could look our from our table to see the water, boats, and sunset, which made for quite a nice atmosphere! Dinner was a goat cheese & beet salad, fried brie appetizer, and 3 mini sliders (1 short rib, 1 kobe beef, 1 pulled pork, all delicious!).

week 3 thursday dinner

Here is the only pic I remembered to snap…and it’s kind of wimpy since the sliders are pretty much devoured at this point haha but I can assure everything tasted wonderful!

This morning I was able to get up early and attend spin class like I did last week! Once again I got such a great workout and it really helped loosen up my still sore legs (darn you squats!).

week 3 friday spin class

 

Finally, breakfast this morning was a veggie juice to start with again…

week 3 friday juice

I felt like such a little health nut getting my fresh veggie juice after spin class haha look at me go!

When I got home after the gym I had a banana w/small scoop of sunbutter and some vanilla soy milk. Then, at work I had a cereal mix of Special K Vanilla Almond, topped with blackberries/raw cashews/& vanilla soy milk..yum!

week 3 friday breakfast close up

So far it has been a good day and I have been in a very good mood! While I was sitting in spin this morning I just had this moment where I realized how far I have come in my eating disorder recovery and how much better off I am now than I was a year ago!

It is crazy how much things can change if you commit yourself to something. And most of the time the hardest part are the first few days of changing your habits & behaviors. I remember feeling so uncomfortable at first when I started to eat normally and healthfully. However, I eventually came to find that I enjoyed living a healthy lifestyle and now I cannot imagine living any other way!

Hopefully for anyone out there struggling with self-confidence, or an eating disorder, or overeating, or any hard time really I hope you remember that you have the strength to overcome anything. All you have to do is reach inside yourself and find something that will make it worth while for you to make it to a better place. For me it really came down to the fact that I really want to have kids some day and I knew that if I continued to starve myself or purge anything I ate, I would never be able to have a family! For me that was all I needed to make a huge change in my life.

I started reading every book I had on recovery and looked to some of the coping methods I had learned while in an intensive eating disorder recovery program and I began to actually listen to what all of the therapists, doctors, and recovered e.d. sufferers were saying! I am not saying it was easy, but I am saying that I am so much happier now that I ever thought was possible. I feel strong and healthy and happy to be alive, and I hope to share my story and my strength with others who may be suffering and need a person to believe in them.

So, anyone out there if you need someone to listen to you or support you or give you any advice at all…I am here and willing to help!

🙂

Leave a Reply

