spring has sprung! weekend recap!

Hi everyone!

Wow Friday got crazy busy and before I knew it the weekend had already come! Let me start with a quick recap of Friday and then I can move on to the rest of the weekend, which was filled with some super fun outdoorsy time!

First of, Friday lunch…

me at lunch!

A delicious PB & J..made with Ezequial Bread, sunbutter, and raspberry jam! A new take on an old classic 🙂

week 3 friday lunch

On the side I had some multigrain crackers and grapes.

Later that evening I was on mom duty since my parents went to a hockey game and left me in charge of the sibs! Little brother had a football game, so after work I hit up Trader Joes and then immediately took him to his game…

bros football game

It was freeeeezing outside! But luckily my sister and I packed some snacks (grapes & cinnamon toast crunch/life cereal combo), so the game didn’t seem to take too long! Unfortunately his team lost, and he was mad when my sister and I asked who had won..apparently “we weren’t paying close enough attention” to be able to tell..whoops!

When we got back home it was kind of late and my original plan to make everyone salmon burgers was kind of not as appealing. We all kind of wanted something sweet, so I whipped up some smoothies (banana/blueberries/mango/pineapple/spinach/almond milk/plain yogurt) and topped them with some fresh strawberries/coconut/dry cereal/& granola.

friday dinner acai bowls

Yum, perfect as a dinner/dessert combo meal!

Saturday morning my sister and I had planned to take a hike in nearby Laguna Beach, so we got up early and were out the door by 8:30 am! We stopped on the way to get the best scone ever…chocolate orange deliciousness!!! And some coffee for her and veggie juice for me!

We got to Laguna and started our hike by 9:30..check out these gorgeous views…

hike ocean pic

Ocean view!

hike canyon pic

Canyon View!

sister hike pic

Sister view! haha

Anyways, the hike was awesome and challenging enough to get us sweating! The weather was perfect…clear, slight breeze, sunny! Everything was going perfectly…until….WE GOT LOST!

So to make a long story short we took this long way back around to what we thought would be where we started, but when we got to the end we were at a completely different parking lot! I started freaking out obviously…especially because you had to pay hourly for parking and we had only 30 minutes to make it back to our car! Not nearly enough time to go back the way we had come! Anyways, after some tears were shed and some mean words were exchanged (whoops, we were kinda freaking out! aka I was!), we finally managed to find our car..thank the Lord!

In the end we ended up laughing about the whole thing, but let’s just say that was a hike we will not be forgetting!

Lunch that day was with a friend who was in town for her spring break and we went out for Mexican food! I got a shrimp taco and a side salad, and also munched on some chips and salsa…it was SO YUMMY! I had almost forgotten about my deep love of all Mexican food!

Then, dinner Sunday night was the salmon burgers I had planned to make the night before, but they weren’t all that good (kinda spongey), so I cooked myself up some kale and had some multigrain bread w/ orange marmalade and a baked sweet potato on the side.

Alright, now on to Sunday!!! Sunday started with a nice breakfast consisting of some homemade banana bread, courtesy of my sis and a yogurt parfait topped with mango and banana!

sunday morning breakfast banana bread

 

There was more to that banana bread, but I snapped this pic after eating like half of one of the loaves! haha

Then, I did a 25 minute yoga dvd and also Level 1 of Jillian Michael’s 6 week abs, which was killer!!! I was sweating like no other after that…and am going to try and do it at least a couple more times this week, because I loved it!

Next, I hit up the local farmer’s market with my sis and got some fresh cara cara oranges, some cherry/apple/pomegranate juice, and some tulips!

We got lunch at Panera (turkey sandwich & garden salad) and then went to Ulta to pick up some essentials (lotion/eye makeup remover/cotton pads).

Dinner was teriyaki salmon, quinoa, and a salad I made that had dried cherries, pistachios, sharp white cheddar pieces, and green apple w/ a homemade vinaigrette!

FINALLY, breakfast this morning was another cereal bowl!

week 4 monday breakfast

Strawberry O’s, blueberries, cashews, vanilla soy milk…yay for mixing things up still!!

Ok, so that is it for the weekend! I will be back later with lunch and workout plan for today!! Talk to ya’ll soon!

Leave a Reply

