Pray for Boston.

boston

I know all of you have heard about the tragedy that occurred in Boston, and seeing the awful images on the TV and computer last night and this morning is what really brought this home for me.

Another tragic loss of life, in an occurrence that is becoming all too prevalent in today’s society. I started thinking about how many recent tragedies and mindless killings have occurred and I literally felt sick to my stomach. How is anyone supposed to feel safe when these things keep happening again and again! And to think that recently many of the victims have been children, people’s little babies, who are senselessly killed because of the selfishness of one person. It saddens me, yet it also makes me aware of how little my problems are in the scheme of things.

So, remember the next time you are having a bad day or getting frustrated, remember all those who have lost their lives for no purpose at all. And say a prayer for those lost and their families, pray instead of getting so consumed by the small annoyance that is causing you grief.

 

Alright, now on to a lighter topic of my recent eats and workouts…

We can start with my gym sesh yesterday afternoon…

monday workout

I wanted to go to 55 minutes, and had enough energy to keep going, but I knew I had some meal prep to do for dinner and I wanted to get in some abs before I left the gym, so I stopped at 51 minutes, happy to have gotten over 4.5 miles in!

I finished up gym time with about 20 minutes of ab work and stretching on the mat!

Dinner last night was couscous topped with sundried tomatoes, steamed broccoli, homemade meatballs, shaved parmesan cheese, and a drizzle of olive oil.

monday dinner

For the meatballs I used 96% lean ground beef, 1 egg, 1/4 cup bread crumbs, and a mix of the following seasonings: salt, pepper, garlic salt, onion powder, Lawry’s seasoned salt, and paprika. For 1 package of ground beef this recipe yields 9 medium sized meatballs..baked at 400 degrees for about 35 minutes..or until they are no longer pink in the middle.

The rest of the prep was simple…I boiled 1 & 1/4 cup couscous/quinoa mixture with 1 & 3/4 cup water for about 20 minutes..I scooped a large portion into a bowl for my dinner last night and then I prepped a couscous salad for lunch today with the rest…I will give you the recipe on that later!

Then, I chopped up some broccoli to steam, added my sundried tomatoes,cheese, and olive oil to the couscous mixture and topped with 2.5 meatballs.

This meal was very delicious, simple, and filling! I will definitely be making this meal again!

Dessert was a few pieces of dark chocolate, and also as a side note..I had some trail mix & chocolate milk as a post-gym, pre-dinner snack. I think due to the fact that I am generally pretty hungry after the gym and need a snack before dinner. I think I’m going to make my normal afternoon snack smaller and then have a snack after the gym as well! So…probably piece of fruit or some veggies before gym and then some trail mix, apple w/ pb, carrots & hummus, etc. post-gym.

Finally, on to breakfast this morning! Started with some green juice & a banana before I got to work and then once at work I had an egg sandwich & some yogurt w/ berries.

tuesday breakfast 2

To make this take 1 toasted whole wheat sandwich thin, top with the yoke of 1 hard boiled egg, and 1 slice of American cheese, zap in microwave for about 20 seconds and enjoy!

tuesday breakfast 1

Yum, this breakfast has definitely kept me full! Which is always a plus when I am at work and don’t have much time to snack if I do get hungry before lunch!

Alright, I will be back later with lunch and afternoon workout plan. Also, I would like to talk about over working out, taking rest days, why we workout, and a few other topics along those lines! Hope everyone has a nice morning and takes a moment to count their blessings and pray for those who are suffering due to the Boston tragedy.

Leave a Reply

